葉劉淑儀參選演辭 ﹣﹣我參選了

「各位傳媒界朋友,各位香港島區市民,我是葉劉淑儀,我現在宣佈參加12 月2日的香港島區立法會補選。

今年8月8日,民建聯主席馬力先生不幸去世,他英年早逝,實在令人惋惜不已。當政府宣佈對他遺下的議席空缺進行補選,我覺得馬力主席的遺缺,自己是合適人選,所以決定參選。其實,參加選舉對於我來說,絕非心血來潮,早在兩年前美國校園中的時候,我就對同學們講過,決定將來返港參加選舉。選舉對於我來說,亦絕不生疏,如果追溯到80年代,我就在鍾逸傑爵士的領導下,參與籌備香港歷史性第一次區議會選舉。

香港97回歸後,我擔任過七年的特區政府主要官員,之後又到過美國進修,研究範圍包括民主理論和如何在香港根據 《基本法》成功落實代議政制,以及經濟理論和文史哲方面。 學成返港後,馬上成立了《匯賢智庫》,在公民社會中探索香港如何轉型為知識型經濟社會和實踐優質民主,同時積極參加討論香港市民關心的所有話題。到今天我決定參加立法會補選,這多年來的歷程儘管曲折,但是我心中沒有一刻離開過香港,沒有一刻忘記自己的責任和承擔。香港市民,特區政府和祖國,一直都在我心中。

03年不再擔任政府官員之後,我下了決心,要以一名普通市民的身份,去傾聽社會各界的心聲,瞭解他們的處境和期望,同時盡我所能繼續為香港服務。我深深明白,民主是香港的必由之路,所以我願意選擇身體力行,參加立法會補選,始終如一地走民主之路。

離開美國校園返港之後,我沒有放過每一天,跑遍了東,南,中西,灣仔各區,從小西灣到碧瑤灣,從灣仔到香港仔,和無數的市民見面, 聆聽他們的心聲。我聽到了無數有血有肉,平凡而感人的香港故事。而市民對我誠摯和熱情的鼓勵,鞭策和提醒,既深深感動了我,也堅定了我參與民主選舉的信念。

我參加補選,可以說是歷史的契機,但絕對無意投機;我經歷過政治風浪的挫折起伏,但絕不心存忿懣。參加補選是艱辛的事情,不過‘衣沾不足惜,但使願無違’,我的願望所在和大家一樣,就是參與建設民主開放的香港特區和繁榮強大的祖國。

今次參加補選,得到各界朋友和市民的廣泛支持和鼓勵,而我的參選團隊,也已經籌備妥當並開始運作。我的參選理念,政綱和口號以及提名人的名單,都已經準備得差不多了,等到報名參選的時候,就會第一時間向所有選民以及傳媒界朋友們公開說明。

感謝今天各位的到來,我葉劉淑儀在此向全港市民承諾,一定會全力以赴,決不辜負大家的期望。

謝謝!」

2007年9月27日

Eng version:

Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the press conference today. I’m Regina Ip, and I now announce that I’m going to stand for the LegCo by-election on 2 December.

I decided to stand for the forthcoming by-election because I consider myself a suitable candidate for the seat vacated by the most unfortunate passing of Mr. Ma Lik, then DAB chairman, on 8 August. The decision to run was certainly not a hasty one; while a student in the United States a couple of years ago, I had already told my classmates that I would return to Hong Kong to participate in democratic elections. Indeed, I’m no stranger to elections; under the tutelage of Sir David Akers-Jones, I was the official responsible for organizing Hong Kong’s first ever District Board elections back in the 1980s.

Following Hong Kong’s reunification in 1997, I served as a Principal Official in the SAR Government for 7 years, and later pursued further education in the US, where I studied democratic theories and how Hong Kong may implement representative government in accordance with the Basic Law, as well as economics and the humanities. Upon my graduation, I played an active role in the city’s civil society by establishing Savantas Policy Institute, through which I aim to facilitate Hong Kong’s transformation into a knowledge-based economy, promote the development of quality democracy, and take part in discussions of interest to my fellow citizens. This intricate journey notwithstanding, my heart has never left the city which I call home; nor have I ever neglected my responsibilities and commitments. The citizens of Hong Kong, the SAR Government and our mother country are always on my mind.

After I left government service in 2003, I vowed to listen intently to people from all walks of life, to appreciate their needs, to recognize their expectations, and to serve them to the best of my ability – all as an ordinary citizen. I totally understand that democracy is the only way forward for Hong Kong, and I’ve chosen to put into practice my belief in democracy by standing in this by-election.

Since my return, I haven’t lived a day without meeting members of the community and taking note of what they have to say. Words of encouragement and sound advice came from all corners of Hong Kong – from Siu Sai Wan to Baguio Villa, from Wanchai to Aberdeen. The spontaneous outpouring of support not only moves me deeply, but also strengthens my commitment to democratic ideals.

This by-election marks an extraordinary opportunity that I can hardly turn down, but in no way am I being opportunistic. I’ve sailed through many ups-and-downs in my career, but in no way am I harboring any frustration or anger. Naturally, a campaign entails a lot of sweat and tears, but I won’t be deterred. After all, I, as do many of you, have been longing for an open, democratic Hong Kong and a strong, prosperous motherland.

I’m pleased to say that my candidacy has received extensive, multi-sector support and endorsements. I’ve also put together a solid election team, which is already gearing up for my campaign. My platform, slogans, and list of nominators are also being prepared, and will be revealed as soon as I officially tender my nomination form in three weeks’ time.

In closing, let me submit to each and every one of you that I’m going to do my utmost to serve Hong Kong and to embrace this remarkable challenge ahead.

Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

